RBMA Demo

Post your work here - Ask for feedback or just show it off
psicomagia
Alf Garnett
RBMA Demo

Post by psicomagia »

Hi guys, I need a little help here.

I prepared my demo for submission for the next Red Bull Music Academy, I chose to display both my skills as a instrumentist (playing lead guitar with my heavy psych/prog/jazz band: Psilocibina) and as a producer (mainly producing techno).

The thing is I mixed and maximized all these tracks myself, I'm fairly new to it and my room is not really treated. I would have them mastered, the issue is that I don't think I have enough time for this, since after the demo submission I'll have to fill a large application (that I can only access after uploading my demo). This application needs to be sent by Sep. 14th, so I guess there's not much time to lose.

The first four tracks are all electronic and the last ones are from my band.

Any feedback would be highly appreciated. Thank you! :)

https://soundcloud.com/alexsheeny/sets/ ... 01/s-91Mhu

kostas
Opposite
Re: RBMA Demo

Post by kostas »

hi Alex and good luck with the submission. since nobody spoke his mind yet I l give it a try although I am not considering myself an audio ninja...
for the first four tracks, the electronic stuff, the only thing I have to point out is that all the elements that is not mono sounds like they are taking up
unnecessary space and can quickly get your ears fatigued.
try some eq to cut material that is not necessary to every specific sound. combine that with the right combination of compression to control
some things that sounds ''uncontrolled''. I personally avoid heavy delays and too much reverb on drones etc. you need a calibrated room to apply these
things correctly. If you still want the effect either way, try to record them separately and send them to a mastering rig so they would apply the effect in