It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:53 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:46 pm 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
So I'm rearranging stuff.. Selling things & picking up new items.

I have some rack space in my desk & have been thinking that if would probably be better to have everything plugged through a patchbay? Then take connections in / out from that to wherever I need.

I've never looked into them before.. So wondering what are the best features that I will need?

I guess I'll possibly be plugging a synth / drum machine directly through it into the computer..

But I'd like to be able to integrate it with my:

Mackie CR1604 desk.
soundcard.

A compressor / multi fx (to be able to chose whether to route synths / drum machines directly through it, as an insert.. OR to route the fx as sends on the desk OR to use the comp / multi fx as sends from Ableton.)

Hope that make sense. What do I need to consider before I buy?

Any advice us greatly appreciated. I was looking at one on Thomann.. A Behringer one..

https://m.thomann.de/ie/behringer_px300 ... 1434998472

Not sure about buying something 2nd hand for same money incase there are some duff sections / 'bays' - if that's the right lingo. The behringer looks to be the main contender on thomann given the price point.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:39 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:32 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: in her mouth
As far as I'm aware a patchbay is just a way to connect cables together. I don't think there is much variation in the concept but I have the neutrik one and you can spin round the module and change the connections from 2 inputs to 2 outputs, 2 inputs to 1 output and 1 input to 2 outputs.
It's just a 19" rack that you plug cables into so i would be looking at 2nd hand for as cheap as possible. I don't understand why they are so expensive.

As for routing, good luck lol I've given up trying to find the best way. Basically I have a master output that I send to my soundcard. I have a few effects etc that are plugged into the back connectors of the patchbay and then I just use a jack lead on the front to connect whatever effect I want to use at the time, into the master output. Mostly I'm going directly into the effect with whatever I'm messing about with at the time.

It might not sound ideal but I'm not tied to any one way of working, and its my favourite way of doing it so far.

_________________
http://www.subsekt.com

Lost to the Void wrote:
Fuck off, get some tequila down ya neck and make some noise you cunt....




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:48 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:32 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: in her mouth
And labels! Label the fucker so you can see what you are plugging into.


And label the fucking leads as well haha!

_________________
http://www.subsekt.com

Lost to the Void wrote:
Fuck off, get some tequila down ya neck and make some noise you cunt....




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:00 pm 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
Cool man.. yeah, what you described there is what I have in my head. Leads! I need some new ones to be fair. Some of them have been with me a lonng time. They're fucked lol . I think I'll be making some up myself.

Found this article on SOS if anyone needs it. Decent.
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/mar98/a ... hbays.html

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:42 pm 
Offline
durchfall
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:06 am
Posts: 486
Location: Damstarem
I was going to comment on whether you would need normalled or half-normalled, but I just
saw those brand bays have switches to change the mode? That's awesome.
Literally didn't know that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:21 am 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
Yeah.. that thing has lots of options alright mate. Just concerned about the build quality seeings its Behringer.

Still.. I see one going for 50E locally. Might see if I can pick it up.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline
sad bastard
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:38 pm
Posts: 183
I have the same patchbay. Been using it for 3 years now and zero issues.... BTW Im not sure what youve decided on but my soundcards ins and outs are connected to the patch bay, the mixers ins and outs are also connected to the patch bay and my synths run through my mixer, Ive also created a text file on my studio computer with all the patchbay, mixer and midi hubs ins and outs listed very usefull seeing that i have so many different connections.

cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:41 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:32 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: in her mouth
Yes a document with all midi channels, audio routing etc is essential.

_________________
http://www.subsekt.com

Lost to the Void wrote:
Fuck off, get some tequila down ya neck and make some noise you cunt....




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:47 pm 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
Markus Wolf wrote:
I have the same patchbay. Been using it for 3 years now and zero issues.... BTW Im not sure what youve decided on but my soundcards ins and outs are connected to the patch bay, the mixers ins and outs are also connected to the patch bay and my synths run through my mixer, Ive also created a text file on my studio computer with all the patchbay, mixer and midi hubs ins and outs listed very usefull seeing that i have so many different connections.

cheers


Thanks man.. That's good to know. I'm getting one 2nd hand for €50, so think that's a good deal. Will have a better idea when I take a proper ( dirty, experimental & original) look at it.

Your input made me go ahead with it so appreciate it!

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:40 pm 
Offline
hmmmmmm...
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:36 am
Posts: 359
Don't get that patch bay! I have it and it was unusable for me. The jacks are too big somehow and patches fall out if the unit is even slightly tilted, is in a rack unit.

Frankly I can't recommend 1/4", but understandably upgrading to bantam or TT comes with a big cost. If it must be 1/4", look for good build and strong grip on the jacks

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 10:34 pm 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
Haha

If there is any issue I'll get something else . Cheers man :)

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 3:26 am 
Offline
hmmmmmm...
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:36 am
Posts: 359
If you keep it flat it should be fine

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 3:58 am 
Offline
Why did this cunt register?
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:08 am
Posts: 554
the behringer seems solid from all i've read, but those switches at the top... not keen cause when it's in a rack they might be shit to deal with. the Samson patchbay seems better as an option.

_________________
Because of ACiD, i now know that butter is way better than margarine. I saw through the bullshit. - Mitch Hedberg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:55 am 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
Cool chaps!

I have a space at the top of the rack which appears to provide some extra room above where the unit will slot in. So hopefully that will allow access. I'd noticed that in reviews too.

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:21 am 
Offline
site spammer

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 7:16 am
Posts: 352
I have a samson s-patch plus which I strongly recommend over the behringer. Its well built, the jack sockets are firm and solid, and there is a switch that lets you flip from normalled tohalf normal to through. This is really really useful, especially if its your first patchbay and you are not 100% sure how you want the normalling to work. You'll likely change that a lot while getting famiiar with it, and having to disassemble everything to change it is a pain.
plus, behringer stuff is garbage. Go for the s-patch plus you won't be sorry.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:19 am 
Offline
Today's Active Lifestyles
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 3:10 pm
Posts: 442
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I've got the samson s-patch plus too, and I'm getting a second one as well so I have a full modular patching setup for everything I need. It's a really good bay, except my only complaint is that the front panel is *so* tiny for spare space, there's absolutely no chance of labelling your patching.

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 5:06 pm 
Offline
site spammer

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 7:16 am
Posts: 352
I've labelled all mine. Maybe its time to graduate from those jumbo crayolas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:00 pm 
Offline
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:32 pm
Posts: 4429
Location: in her mouth
Haha

_________________
http://www.subsekt.com

Lost to the Void wrote:
Fuck off, get some tequila down ya neck and make some noise you cunt....




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:22 pm 
Online
subsekt
subsekt
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:22 pm
Posts: 7830
Location: Lego City
I had a 30 min heated discussion with my Dad today about normal, thru & half normal. Proud to be able to strike that one off my bucket list :)

_________________
Lost to the Void wrote:
There is no top to the mountain, but the view gets better as you climb.

-
http://blog.subsekt.com/
subsekt mixes: https://hearthis.at/4x6yvjqn/
https://www.facebook.com/subsekt909


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting A Patchbay _ Advice / Things To Consider?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:23 pm 
Offline
Why did this cunt register?

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:56 pm
Posts: 546
Location: Amsterdam
I've got a couple of these. They get a bad rap on some sites like GS and probably won't stand up to use in a busy studio, but for home use they've been fine for me :

https://m.thomann.de/gb/neutrik_nys_spp_patchbay.htm

Free patch cables are a bonus too


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles v1.1 designed by CodeMiles Team -TemplatesDragon-.