Any of you guys use an MPC?

Electronic Music Production // Dark Arts
nomadjames
mummy!!
Any of you guys use an MPC?

Post by nomadjames »

I just got an MPC 1000, so now I have a computerless setup as well. Sequencing with the MPC, running into a Roland MX-1, controlling a Korg Monologue, Volca Kick, and OP-1. Still working all the bugs out with the MPC...I'm a total noob to them.

I learned a pretty insane amount from this video below. I love how he is using the audio editor and just recording the output, instead of transferring digital files...Super fast.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys15ZGntgyY

If anyone else is using one and interested, let's start a discussion. If you got any good threads on the subject anywhere, let me know.
www.soundcloud.com/nomadjames

"The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over." - Hunter S. Thompson

www.nomadjames.com

Pittsburgh Ableton
www.facebook.com/groups/558333351022659

Lost to the Void
subsekt
subsekt
Re: Any of you guys use an MPC?

Post by Lost to the Void »

An MPC is a computer.
But yes I use one. MPC Live. I think the architecture still uses classic MPC methodology but with all the addition and ease of a bigger screen, and multiple sequencing methods.
Mastering Engineer @ Black Monolith Studio
New Shit
Techno is dead. Long live Techno.

nomadjames
mummy!!

Post by nomadjames »

Technically it's certainly a computer. I guess any sampler with a screen would be a computer. If you want to get down to brass tacks. What's your draw to the newer MPCs? I found the 1000 to be a pretty cantankerous contraption. I went through 3 hard drives and none of them would format. Finally got a 64GB micro SD card in a CF adapter to work.

"The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over." - Hunter S. Thompson

www.nomadjames.com

Pittsburgh Ableton

Lost to the Void