It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:38 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Line level to instrument level conversion
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
Weedy

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:05 pm
Posts: 3044
Location: Leeds
Bit of a easy question for all you hardware experts.

I've got a few guitar pedals that people have given me over the last couple of years that I've never really used. So I've decided I'm going to have a go resampling some sounds through them. As I'm not particularly bothered about this kind of thing usually, I've realised that my signals are line level and these pedals are going to need instrument level signals. My sound card doesn't have an instrument level output, so is there a simple and cheap way of getting the signal converted to bring the level down and match the impedance?

Getting the signal back up to line level isn't an issue, btw.

_________________


Archive of all my mixes HERE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Line level to instrument level conversion
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:00 pm 
Offline
decent
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 1:10 pm
Posts: 325
Em...turn it down?! Only joking ☺..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Line level to instrument level conversion
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:15 pm 
Offline
site spammer

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 7:16 am
Posts: 352
If you're not too picky about it, you can actually just turn the signal going to the pedal down a bit, and it'll be ok. The worst that happens is the impedance mismatch will throw your eq off a bit. If you're generally just mucking up your sounds for new sounds, this is probably not important.

If you're doing some very subtle work with the pedals, then use what's called a Reamp Box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Line level to instrument level conversion
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:53 pm 
Offline
Interchangeable
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:31 pm
Posts: 8673
Yeah. Turn the line output down (pretty much what I do and I go OTB through fx a lot) or get one of thesehttp://www.reamp.com

_________________
Mastering Engineer @ Black Monolith Studio
Latest Release
Live PA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Line level to instrument level conversion
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline
Weedy

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:05 pm
Posts: 3044
Location: Leeds
Much appreciated, lads, there's not a very straight answer about this in all the places i looked. This is going to be some bass noise fuckery, so I can deal with the impedance/eq side of things.

_________________


Archive of all my mixes HERE


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles v1.1 designed by CodeMiles Team -TemplatesDragon-.